Bookish Posts

Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I Would Love to Meet

top-ten-tuesday-shazreads

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten Authors I’m Dying To Meet / Ten Authors I Can’t Believe I’ve Met  (some other “meeting authors” type spin you want to do). I’ve chosen authors I would love to meet from the past and present. If Back to the Future style time travel ever comes to fruition, then I would certainly visit some of my favourite authors. Let’s get started!

The Past

Jane Austen

Jane Austen is my favourite author ever. She’s a certified literary genius and I reckon she would be a delightfully charming person to meet. Just imagine her witty repartee! It would be intriguing to learn where she drew the inspiration for her brilliant novels: real life or imagination or a mixture of the two.

The Brontë sisters

I couldn’t choose which Brontë sister to pick, so I’ve gone for all three. What a talented family! I wonder how they felt about adopting male pen names in order to publish their respective books.

Margaret Mitchell

I love Gone With the Wind so of course Margaret Mitchell would be on this list.

William Shakespeare

Technically a playwright, but I reckon he was a fascinating character.

Harper Lee

Harper Lee was an inspirational and intelligent lady, and it would’ve been great to have met her.

The Present

Mhairi McFarlane

I’ve recently become a fan of Mhairi McFarlane’s work and it’s apparent that she has a great sense of humour.

J.K. Rowling

Who wouldn’t want to meet J.K. Rowling?

Caitlin Moran

Caitlin Moran is a brilliant writer and feminist extraordinaire.

Philippa Gregory

The queen of historical fiction.

George R.R. Martin

It would be cool to meet George R.R. Martin, the author of A Song of Ice and Fire series. Although mayhaps he would get annoyed by all my questions and theories about his books.

Thanks for reading this list. Which authors would you love to meet? Please let me know in the comments. Until next time, readers!

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I Would Love to Meet

    1. Wow, you’re so lucky to have met all of those authors, Lisa! I didn’t know John Steinbeck’s son was also an author. Thank you for sharing your TTT post.

  1. This is such a great list! I love the variety in your picks. Shakespeare would be a really interesting person to meet. Though if he spoke in the same way he writes, we might be in for some confusing conversations haha.

Leave a Reply

