Bookish Posts

WWW Wednesday #1: 1st March 2017

www-wednesday-shazreads

Welcome to my first WWW Wednesday! This is a weekly meme hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words. All you need to do is answer the three questions below.

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

Let’s get started!

What are you currently reading?

tales-of-the-jazz-ageI am currently reading Tales of the Jazz Age by F. Scott Fitzgerald. My favourite short stories so far are ‘May Day’, ‘The Diamond as Big as The Ritz’ and ‘The Curious Case of Benjamin Button’. I’ve noticed there is a theme in Fitzgerald’s fiction of a poor boy who’s in love with a rich girl. Reading up on this, I learnt that Fitzgerald’s relationship with socialite Ginevra King ended after someone, possibly her father, said that “poor boys shouldn’t think of marrying rich girls”. Ouch. So that’s where the inspiration for The Great Gatsby stems from!

What did you recently finish reading?

thedarkdaysclub

I recently finished reading The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman. The author has referred to her novel as “Pride and Prejudice meets Buffy in English high society”. This is the first book in the Lady Helen series and I’m looking forward to reading the subsequent books. Check out my review here.

What do you think you’ll read next?

L1040323

The next book I would like to read is Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. I’ve previously read Paris for One and I enjoy Jojo Moyes’s writing style.

 

 

What are you currently reading? Have you read any of the books in my list? If so, please let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

