Bookish Posts

Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Romantic Book Couples

top-ten-tuesday-shazreads

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is All About Romance Tropes/Types. I’ve chosen my top 3 Favourite Romantic Book Couples.

Please note, there are *Spoilers Ahead!*

So without further ado…

Jane Eyre and Edward Fairfax Rochester from Jane Eyre

jane-eyre

For Jane Eyre and Mr Rochester it definitely was not love at first sight! Jane is employed as a governess for Mr Rochester’s ward. Early on in their acquaintance, Mr Rochester asks Jane “do you think me handsome?”. Jane answers “No sir”. 😀 They develop a gradual love for each other, although it’s not all plain sailing as Mr Rochester harbours a dark secret. Once the truth comes out, after a lot of soul searching and dramatic turn of events, Jane reveals “Reader, I married him”. Yes!

Scarlett O’Hara and Rhett Butler from Gone With the Wind

gone-with-the-wind

Scarlett and Rhett have a passionate and bittersweet relationship. You can tell they’re made for each other, but unfortunately Scarlett always seems to have her eyes on another certain gentleman. She doesn’t realise what she has with Rhett until it’s too late, and in the movie, Rhett delivers the famous line “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn”. Ouch.

Elizabeth Bennet and Mr Darcy from Pride and Prejudice

pride-and-prejudice

They say first impressions count and it is Elizabeth Bennet’s prejudice and Mr Darcy’s pride which clouds their judgement of each other in the beginning. These two characters have a slow-burning romance, and when Darcy first proposes to Elizabeth, she declines. Thankfully, though, Darcy writes a letter to Elizabeth and their opinions of each other change. Darcy makes a second proposal and there is a happy ending for the heroine.

Thanks for reading this list. Who are your favourite romantic book couples? Please let me know in the comments. Until next time, readers!

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Romantic Book Couples

  1. I love this weeks topic, it is fun to see what people decided to go with and I love your choice. I feel so bad that I can only read the names of your picks. I had to avoid all your reasons, as I have yet to read or watch these romances unfold and I NEED TO. I know that I am clearly missing out. You can check out my post on romances here.

  2. Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy are forever the ideal couple. Love them! I also have come to love Jane and Edward a great deal more than I did when first I “met” them. 🙂

    1. I must admit, I was unsure which book couple Edmond and Mercedes are. Having just searched this online, I found ‘The Count of Monte Cristo’. This book is definitely going on my TBR list. Thank you, Emily! 🙂

Leave a Reply

